Video Premier: Hare and the Hounds “Sparrows”


Hare and the Hounds is an Atlanta based indie rock band releasing their debut album A Moth, a Flame tomorrow via The Cottage Recording Co. We recently caught Hare and the Hounds at Savannah Stopover, where they had one of the most surprising and pleasing sets we saw throughout the weekend chalk full of great artists.

Today, Hare and the Hounds released a video for the first single “Sparrows” which you can check out below:

If you are in Atlanta, be sure to get to The Earl Thursday for their album release party!

From the press release:

“Purveyors of spacious, intricate indie rock…Smith delivers his melodies with a calm urgency while the band shuffles the loose but focused accompaniment.” – Creative Loafing

Hare and the Hounds, the Atlanta-based project from Luke Smith and Cole Ayers, featuring a rotating cast of East Atlanta musicians, will release their debut album A Moth, a Flame on March 24, 2015 via The Cottage Recording Co. The CD/LP pre-order with instant download of the album track “Sparrows” (video above) is currently available via the Hare and the Hounds Bandcamp:

A Moth, a Flame reverberates with the introspective meditations and worries of daily life rendered with expansive gestures. Smith’s resonant voice, backed by the instrumentation of Ayers (percussion), Damon Moon (guitar), Chandler Galloway (keyboard), and Jenna Shea (violin), creates an album of songs that swell and envelop the concept of home, containing all the dysfunction, frustration, love, despair, and hope between its paint-peeled walls. Smith’s songwriting, from the plaintive evocation of loneliness in “Sparrows” to the more upbeat highway rhythm of “Voices in the Hall,” explores the push-pull of familial and romantic relationships. These themes reach their climax at the frustrated, eight-minute “In Our Own Words,” finally giving way to the quiet resignation of “Roman Candles.”

Smith began writing A Moth, a Flame in 2012, working through the material in disparate projects and touring along the Southeast. As much as the songs seem to revolve around family, they also show the tensions inherent in creating—the need to create, the desire to perfect, and the frustrations that arise from those meetings. The songs came together like a fevered marriage, written over sleepless nights and restless days, before Hare and the Hounds settled into the Cottage studio for eight months over 2013 and 2014 to work with Damon Moon, who helped build the final arrangements, as well as producing and engineering the album. A full track listing and cover art are below. .

A Moth, a Flame track listing:

1. Voices in the Hall

2. Vigil

3. Liars or Thieves

4. A Moth, A Flame

5. Sparrows

6. Of a Different Kind

7. Origins

8. In Our Own Words

9. Roman Candles

Hare and the Hounds live dates: MAR 26 ATLANTA, GA THE EARL

Check out a video from their performance at Savannah Stopover here:


About Author

Powered by